The Pound Legacy
The Pound family name is well known by most citizens of Niagara County, and especially to the thousands of school children who have attended the school named in honor of John E. Pound. John E., together with younger brother, Cuthbert W. Pound, formed a partnership to practice law in the 1800s and set up various offices including an office in the famous Hodge Opera House on Market Street in Lockport.
John E. Pound graduated from Lockport Union School and attended Brown University. He served as a US District Attorney and also served two terms as Mayor of Lockport. But perhaps he’s most well known in his role as president of the Lockport Board of Education in whose honor the John Pound Elementary School was named.
Cuthbert Pound, twenty-one years younger than his brother John E., was also an alumnus of Lockport Union School and attended Cornell University. Among Cuthbert’s accomplishments were serving as City attorney, NYS Senator, State Supreme Court Judge, and Chief Justice of the Court of Appeals, that judicial body’s highest office. But, perhaps he is best known among historians because he was instrumental in establishing and served as the first president of the Lockport Historical Society in 1921. A few years later, this society expanded their mission and became known as the Niagara County Historical Society.
This legal duo came by their ambition quite naturally. They were the sons of Alexander Pound who arrived early in Niagara County and established the Pound Manufacturing Company on the Erie Canal near the Lockport Locks. Alexander, described as a mechanical genius, was responsible for the production of countless items including cast iron stoves, steam engines, circular saws, lathes for broom handles and even steam boats.
In company advertisements, the consumer was reminded, “Don’t go anywhere else to purchase articles which can be furnished in good quality and as cheap at home. Buy in Lockport!”
Douglas Farley, Director
Erie Canal Discover Center
24 Church St.
Lockport NY 14094