Town of Niagara 1976 Bicentennial Project Continues to Highlight History
In the 1970s, in anticipation of the nation’s Bicentennial, many towns and historical societies took the opportunity to undertake projects that highlighted their local history. One local town and historical society joined forces to mark the earliest homes and farms, most still in existence at the time. In 1976 the Town of Niagara and the Town of Niagara Historical Society, placed 30 historical markers in front of properties that listed the original owner, the date the home or farm was established and sometimes a little historical tidbit about the site. The majority of the markers are located along Lockport Road (12), and Tuscarora Road (9) off of Niagara Falls Boulevard. The others were scattered on Military, East Britton, Miller and a few other roads.
The Town of Niagara was heavily populated by German settlers who also took up residence in nearby Bergholtz in the Town of Wheatfield. Many of the names are familiar and roads were later named for the families including Witmer, Williams and Miller. The homes range from log cabins to clapboards to three stone houses. Most of the farms were extensive and several stayed in the same family for generations. A few were actually moved when the Niagara Falls Airport was built in 1927. Over the years some of the properties have disappeared due to development or fire. Of the two one-room schoolhouses that were marked, only one still stands and is today the Town of Niagara Historical Society. A brochure was published as a guide to the markers and a copy can be obtained by contacting the History Center at 434-7433.
Douglas Farley, Director
Ann Marie Linnabery
Erie Canal Discover Center
24 Church St.
Lockport NY 14094